Home > Consular District Facts
Brief Introduction to Eastern Samar Province

Eastern Samar Province neighbors Philippine Sea which forms part of Pacific Ocean in the east, Northern Samar Province in the north, Samar Province in the west and Leyte Gulf in the south, and has a total landmass of 4,339.6 square kilometers. Its annual average temperature is about 27 degrees centigrade, and from November to January is the rainy season and from July to September the dry season, with its annual rainfall being 3,147 mm. The mineral resources include such metallic minerals as nickel, copper, manganese, iron, gold and aluminum, and such non-metallic minerals as coal, clay, sand, rock and jade. The water resources are supplied by 8 major river basins, creeks, springs, marsh and falls. Major forest resources are logs and rattan.

The province includes 23 municipalities and 597 barangays, with its capital named Borongan. The total population is 375,822(data of 2000), 97% of which is literate, and 251,000(data of 2003) people are labor force. The major language used is Waray.

The main industries are agriculture and fishery. The major agricultural products are corn, vegetable, coconut, banana, pineapple and other fruits. The marine products include fishes like mackerel, tuna and tropical aquarium fishes, lobster, crab, shells and seaweed, etc..


For more information, please log on www.easternsamar.gov.ph.

<Suggest To A Friend>