Home > Consular District Facts
Brief Introduction to Surigao Del Norte Province

Surigao del Norte is a province of the Philippines located in the Caraga region in Mindanao. It's subdivided into 20 municipalities and 1 city, the capital is Surigao City. The province consists of two major islands—Siargao Island, and Bucas Grande Island—in the Philippine Sea, and a small region at the northernmost tip of the island of Mindanao. This mainland portion borders Agusan del Norte, and Surigao del Sur to the south.

The province has a population of 374,465 and the area is 1,936.9 km2,that means 193.3/km2 density.

Surigao del Norte is the northernmost of the Mindanao provinces and is an important transportation route between Visayas and Mindanao. Numerous ferries cross the Surigao Strait between Surigao and the island of Leyte carrying vehicles and passengers between Liloan in Southern Leyte and Surigao City.

The population of Surigaonon is mostly Austronesian stock, with some people of Chinese, Japanese and Arab heritage. European and American influences are also evident in the culture.

Some 95 percent of the people speak Surigaonon as a major dialect. Influences of the Cebuano and Boholano languages with a Tausug accent can be traced. A few speak Waray and Tagalog. A majority are able to speak English.

The dominant religion is Roman Catholic. Other religions include Aglipayan and Protestant.

<Suggest To A Friend>